People
Faculty
Senior Researchers
Eduardo Isidro
eduardo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries Ecology and Ichthyoplankton
Helder Marques da Silva
helder@notes.horta.uac.pt
Deep-sea Fisheries - Demersal Resources
Helen Rost Martins
hrmartins@oma.pt
Marine Ecology - Deep-sea Crustaceans and Marine Turtles
Helena Maria de Noronha Krug
hkrug@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries - Ageing
Gui Menezes
gui@notes.horta.uac.pt
Deep-sea Fisheries and Ecology
Mário Rui Pinho
maiuka@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries - Stock Assessment
Ricardo Serrão Santos
ricardo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Behavioural Ecology and Marine Conservation
Research Assistants
Ana Martins
anamartins@notes.horta.uac.pt
Biological Oceanography - Remote Sensing
João Gil Pereira
pereira@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries - Pelagic Resources
João Gonçalves
j.goncalves@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Cetaceans and Molluscs
José A. Martins Goulart
jamgoulart@notes.horta.uac.pt
Mathematics - Fisheries Evaluation Models
Senior Technicians
Filipe Porteiro
filipe@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Ichthyology and Malacology (PhD Student)
Helena Azevedo Isidro
hisidro@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries - Ageing
Humberto Lopes
hlopes@notes.horta.uac.pt
Chemistry
Valentina Costa
valentina@notes.horta.uac.pt
Chemistry
Visiting Scientists
Alan James Southward
alan@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Hydrothermal Vent Ecology
Alan Bolten
Sea Turtle Ecology
Malcolm Roy Clarke
mclarke@notes.horta.uac.pt
Cephalopods and their Predators
Mark Bolton
mbolton@notes.horta.uac.pt
Seabird Ecology
Peter Wirtz
peter@notes.horta.uac.pt
Behavioural Ecology and Biodiversity
Research Fellows
Post-Docs
Ana Colaço
acolaco@notes.horta.uac.pt
Hydrothermal Vent Ecology
Eniko Kadar
enikokadar@notes.horta.uac.pt
Ecotoxicology of Hydrothermal Vents
Félix José
felixjose@notes.horta.uac.pt
Physics Oceanography

Igor Bashmachnikov
igorb@notes.horta.uac.pt

Physics Oceanography
Jöel Bried
bried@notes.horta.uac.pt
Seabird Ecology
Niels Bouton
bouton@notes.horta.uac.pt
Etology of Coastal Fishes
Sérgio Stefanni
sstefanni@notes.horta.uac.pt
Molecular Phylogeny and Phylogeography of Fishes
Sophie Querouil
squerouil@notes.horta.uac.pt
Cetacean Genetics and Social Organization
Virgine Lafon
vlafon@notes.horta.uac.pt
Biological Oceanography / Remote Sensing
Master Degree
Frederico Cardigos
frederico@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Biodiversity and Habitat Conservation
Gilberto Carreira
carreira@notes.horta.uac.pt
Cephalopod Genetics (PhD Student)
Pedro Afonso
afonso@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Fish Communities (PhD Student)
Telmo Morato Gomes
telmo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Fish Trophic Relations (PhD Student)
Graduate
Ana Meirinho
ameirinho@notes.horta.uac.pt

Seabird Ecology

Ana Mendonça
amendonca@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries - Fish Reproduction
Ângela Canha
angela@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries Sampling Program
Carla Gomes
cmgomes@notes.horta.uac.pt
Sensibilização Ambiental (master's student)
Dália Reis
dreis@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries Sampling Program
Fernando Tempera
tempera@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Biodiversity and Habitat Conservation
Inês Martins
imartins@notes.horta.uac.pt
Hydrothermal Vent Biology
Jorge Fontes
fontes@notes.horta.uac.pt
Coastal artisanal fishing, Marine Ecology - Recruitment e Dispersão Larvar (PhD Student)
Maria Ana Aboim
mariaana@notes.horta.uac.pt
Population genetics (PhD Student)
Maria Carvalho
mcarvalho@notes.horta.uac.pt
Seabird Ecology
Miguel Figueiredo
mfig@notes.horta.uac.pt
Biological Oceanography / Remote Sensing
Miguel Machete
miguel@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries Biology
Mirko de Girolamo
mdegirolamo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Behavioural Ecology (PhD Student)
Mónica Silva
monica@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Cetacean
Natacha Carvalho
natacha@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries Biology
Octávio Melo
melo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Fisheries Biology - Tecnology
Paula Tavares
ptavares@notes.horta.uac.pt
Ornitology - Ecotoxicology (PhD Student)
Pedro Frade
frade@notes.horta.uac.pt
Characterization of coastal communities
Rogério Feio
rogerio@notes.horta.uac.pt
POPA - Azores Fisheries Observation Program
Rogério Ferraz
ferraz@notes.horta.uac.pt
Coastal Invertebrate Management (master's student)
Rui Prieto
rprieto@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Cetacean
Rute Cabecinhas
rcabecinhas@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Cetacean
Samanta Vizinho
svizinho@notes.horta.uac.pt
Socio-economic evaluation of environmental values
Sara Magalhães
smagalhaes@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology - Cetacean
Sara Vanessa Santos
vanessa@notes.horta.uac.pt
Characterization of coastal communities
 
Staff
Technical
Carmelina Leal
carmelina@notes.horta.uac.pt
Marine Ecology Laboratory Officer
Domitília Rosa
drosa@notes.horta.uac.pt
Histology and Ageing
Emmanuel Arand
mail@doublefishdesigns.com
Image and Multimedia Scientific Nucleous (ImagDOP)
Fátima Mendes
fatima@notes.horta.uac.pt
Biological Sampling
João Santos
santos@notes.horta.uac.pt
Computing and Programming
José Branco
branco@notes.horta.uac.pt
Biological Sampling
Luís Macedo
macedo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Chemistry Analyses and Electronics
Luís Pires
lpires@notes.horta.uac.pt
Chemistry Analyses
Mário Laranjo
laranjo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Chemistry Analyses
Norberto Serpa
norberto@hnotes.horta.uac.pt
Scuba-diving Officer
Paulo Castro
paulo@notes.horta.uac.pt
Computing and Programming
Renato Martins Bettencourt
rmartins@notes.horta.uac.pt
Scuba Diving
Rui Rosa
rrosa@notes.horta.uac.pt
Biological Sampling
Administrative
Albertina Tavares
tina@notes.horta.uac.pt
Administrative Services
José António Pereira
jpereira@notes.horta.uac.pt
Driver
Margarida Vieira
Cleaning Personnel
Maria Adelaide Andrade Cleaning Personnel
Maria Homem da Rosa.  

Maria José Rodrigues
mariarodrigues@notes.horta.uac.pt

Administrative Services
Marlene Lemos
marlene@notes.horta.uac.pt
Ship Administration
Sandra Andrade
sandrade@notes.horta.uac.pt
Accounting
Sandra Silva
ssilva@notes.horta.uac.pt
Secretariat
Zenaide Pereira
Administrative Services - DRP
Ship Crew
Amilcar Oliveira Sailor
Humberto Rodrigues
hrodrigues@notes.horta.uac.pt
First Mate
José Gabriel Matos
jgabriel@notes.horta.uac.pt
Sailor and Cook
Lourenço Jorge
ljorge@notes.horta.uac.pt
First Machinist
Luís Garcia Rosa
lrosa@notes.horta.uac.pt
Sailor
Manuel Fernando Serpa
fserpa@notes.horta.uac.pt
Captain of the R/V ARQUIPÉLAGO
Marco Pedro Rosa
mrosa@notes.horta.uac.pt
Sailor
Paulo Martins
pmartins@notes.horta.uac.pt
L/V ÁGUAS VIVAS Skipper
Paulo Vieira Marinheiro
Vitor Rosa
vrosa@notes.horta.uac.pt
First Machinist
Collaborators
Les Gallagher
les@sapo.pt
Scientific Illustration
Rebecca Hothersall
beckarama@metacrawler.com
Marine Ecology - Seabird Feeding Ecology
Degree Students
Ana Rita Costa
rcosta@notes.horta.uac.pt
 
André Couto
adbc@notes.horta.uac.pt

 
Carla Dâmaso
cdamaso@notes.horta.uac.pt
 

David Abecassis
dabecassis@notes.horta.uac.pt

 
Luís Barcelos
lbarcelos@notes.horta.uac.pt
 
Margarida Rodrigues

  Go Back